Torrealba, who made contact with Vanover with the bill of his batting helmet, received a three-game suspension two days later. Torrealba, who said he had no intention of making any contact with Vanover, voiced his displeasure with umpiring in general.
"I understand they're going to miss calls ... they're human, like we are," Torrealba said at the time. "But when you ask [about the location of a pitch], they sometimes talk to you like you're a little kid. They are so defensive now. We've been having some really bad umpires and some really bad calls."
Torrealba initially indicated that he intended to appeal the suspension. But on Tuesday, Torrealba said he's ready to put the incident behind him.
"I said what I had to stay and I decided not to go on [with the appeal]," he said. "I know I didn't do anything wrong, but I'm definitely moving on. I needed to get that [criticism] of Vanover, umpires] off my chest."
Padres manager Bud Black said his club was in a better place to absorb the hit of losing Torrealba for three games because it was playing an American League team this week (Tampa Bay), even if using a designated hitter shortened San Diego's bench.
"With the AL games, there's less moves. Even with a three-man bench, we can work our way through a game," Black said. "It was more the style of the game and what we can get away with."
The Padres recalled catcher Dusty Ryan from Triple-A Portland to back Nick Hundley on Monday and sent infielder Lance Zawadzki to Portland.
Ryan was hitting .129 with four home runs and 11 RBIs with Portland. Torrealba, who is traveling with the team, will be reinstated in time for Friday's game against the Marlins.