Padres to honor 1998 NL champions Friday

Padres to honor 1998 NL champions Friday

SAN DIEGO -- The Padres will honor the 1998 National League championship team at Friday's game against the D-backs at Petco Park.

Nineteen players and coaches from the '98 team are scheduled to take part in the celebration, which will include a pregame ceremony and an in-game tribute. They'll also sign autographs at Park at the Park from 5:45 p.m. to 6:15 p.m. PT, open to anyone with tickets to Friday's game.

The members from that NL championship team scheduled to attend include: Andy Ashby, Brian Boehringer, Kevin Brown, Archi Cianfrocco, Ben Davis, Ed Giovanola, Chris Gomez, Tony Gwynn, Joey Hamilton, Carlos Hernandez, Sterling Hitchcock, Jim Leyritz, Mark Merila, Merv Rettenmund, Stan Spencer, Mark Sweeney, Greg Vaughn, Quilvio Veras and Donne Wall.

Hitchcock, the MVP of the NL Championship Series, will throw out the first pitch to Hernandez, who was a catcher on the team.

Corey Brock is a reporter for Keep track of @FollowThePadres on Twitter. Jamal Collier is an associate reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.