CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Black wins two challenges to aid victory

Two calls at first base, one in the ninth, overturned after review

Black wins two challenges to aid victory play video for Black wins two challenges to aid victory

SAN DIEGO -- Padres manager Bud Black was successful with two challenges, as two separate calls at first base were overturned in Sunday's 4-3 win over Arizona.

The first challenge occurred with with two outs and the bases empty in the eighth inning. Third baseman Alexi Amarista bobbled a grounder off the bat of Chris Owings, then rifled a throw to first. First-base umpire Bill Welke initially ruled that Owings beat Amarista's throw, prompting Black to exit the dugout and use a challenge.

More

After one minute and 59 seconds, the call was overturned and Owings was ruled out, ending the inning. The game remained tied at 3-3.

But Black wasn't done, and his encore would prove to be a key to the Padres' win.

Cameron Maybin led off the ninth inning with the game tied 3-3 and hit a slow grounder that second baseman Aaron Hill barehanded and threw to first. First-base umpire Bill Welke initially ruled Maybin out.

Black, who was awarded a second challenge after his first one was successful, again asked for a review of Welke's call, and the call was again overturned after 55 seconds.

Maybin later scored the game-winning run, as San Diego snapped a four-game losing streak.

"I didn't know [if I beat the throw]," Maybin said. "It was a close play. Before this whole replay thing, I've had it go so many different ways, so I didn't argue it. The replay worked in our favor and it turned out to be an important run."

Tim Powers is a contributor to MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Less
{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }