SAN DIEGO -- Padres replay history was made in the second inning of Wednesday's 8-0 loss to the Royals: manager Bud Black lost his first challenge.
With the Royals holding a 3-0 lead, Cameron Maybin rounded second on Alexi Amarista's bouncer behind the first-base bag that Royals Gold Glover Eric Hosmer stopped and Amarista beat out. Maybin, who was on first after following Seth Smith with back-to-back singles to start the frame, dashed to second and rounded the bag a bit too far. Hosmer threw behind him and Maybin didn't get back in time as shortstop Alcides Escobar applied the tag.
The play was close, and Maybin immediately waved at the dugout, asking Black to challenge. Moments later, the call came back from Central Command in New York and umpire Will Little's call was ruled to stand.
Black, who had previously been a perfect 4-for-4 on challenges, credited Hosmer with making a terrific play on a ball that could have easily slipped down the right-field line for extra bases, explaining that he had the added benefit of the play happening behind Maybin, instead of in front of him. And with two outs, Maybin was running on contact.
"He thought he was going to score," Black said.
"He made a good play," Maybin said. "As I turned around, I saw he had the ball. The replay wasn't conclusive enough to overturn it. I felt like I got in there."
Scott Miller is a contributor to MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.