Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Black ejected after on-field call stands

Black ejected after on-field call stands play video for Black ejected after on-field call stands

ST. LOUIS -- It was when Cardinals catcher A.J. Pierzynski continued to follow Alexi Amarista to the plate that confusion kicked in.

With the Padres trailing by two runs in the ninth inning, with one out and the bases loaded, pinch-hitter Jake Goebbert sent a line drive to right field. Yasmani Grandal scored from third to bring the Padres within one run, and Amarista sprinted around from second attempting to tie the score.

But after Pierzynski went to re-tag Amarista, who touched home plate before that could happen, manager Bud Black quickly emerged from the dugout to challenge.

"When that play occurred -- and you guys all saw it -- you saw two Major League players react to a play that indicated that a tag was missed," Black said. "You saw their catcher go back and try to tag our runner, because he knew he missed him."

A long review followed before the replay team in New York ruled that the call would stand. Black was quickly ejected for voicing his opinion before the Padres eventually fell, 4-3, at Busch Stadium.

Cardinals manager Mike Matheny felt that had the play not continued after Pierzynski reached for the initial tag, which Davidson had pointed to in making his call, much of the confusion would have been avoided.

"I've been in that position before, too, where it's bang-bang and you feel like you have to [continue]," Matheny said. "There are many times you can just go over and tag him and take away all doubt. I think it just caused a little more confusion."

"When he comes back and goes to retag him, that kind of tells you for sure he didn't tag him," added Grandal. "It's one of those plays [where] you can't do much about it."

The long review suggested umpires were looking for a conclusive view, which never came. Grandal feels, in that sense, that the replay system must continue to evolve.

"If we are going to have the replay, we're going to have to have a lot more cameras, a lot more angles," he said. "It kind of seemed from one angle that he never tagged him. For a catcher to swipe-tag and try to come back and tag the guy, that should tell you something right there."

Alex Halsted is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español