Padres lose challenge of out call on Smith

Padres lose challenge of out call on Smith

SAN DIEGO -- Padres manager Bud Black challenged the ruling on a Seth Smith ground ball in the bottom of the seventh Thursday night with his team trailing the D-backs, 5-0.

After review, the call was confirmed.

With the D-backs infield in a shift against the lefty Smith, he bounced a ground ball to the left side of the infield that third baseman Aaron Hill fielded and fired to first. The ball arrived with Smith still a couple of steps away from the bag, but it was wide to the home-plate side of the base.

However, first baseman Mark Trumbo snagged it and landed a sort of behind-the-back tag on Smith. First-base umpire Marvin Hudson ruled Smith out, which is when Black challenged.

After the call was confirmed, D-backs reliever Will Harris completed a 1-2-3 inning.

Scott Miller is a contributor to This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.